Falling In Love With The Past: I’m Still Thinking About You

Thought Catalog

ethermoonethermoon

I keep wanting to write about him, but deciding not to. Instead, I find a movie to distract myself with. I’ll make an OkCupid profile and then immediately delete it because someone messages me: “Would a nice Jewish girl like a sugar daddy?” I want to call him and tell him because I know we’d laugh until our sides beg for forgiveness.

I’ll text a friend.

I’ll call my mom and she’ll ask how I am. She’ll ask innocuous questions and my answers will go places I don’t expect.

“I think about him a lot lately.”

She reminds me it’s been a long time and things happen the way they do. Not always for a reason, but they happen, nonetheless. Dwelling makes us sick. Idolizing the past is a recipe for current unhappiness.

“I miss him too, you know,” she says, her voice softened.

The thing is, you can…

View original post 322 more words

Leave a Reply

